Some stuff I enjoyed during the last bit and what I’m looking forward to in the next bit

The time period known in the west as 2014 was a fairly unremarkable one forThe Year of Reading Dangerously me. I read a whole bunch of books, short stories and graphic novels. One book which was experimental poetry. Quite a few comics. I also took to audio-books, listening to all of the Dark Tower series amongst others.

In a break from the normal annual review, may I present to you, dear reader, some top lists.

Top 5 non-fiction books:

  1. The Year of Reading Dangerously by Andy Miller (no, the other one)
  2. This Changes Everything by Naomi Klein
  3. The Fossil Hunter by Shelley Emling
  4. Going Clear by Lawrence Wright
  5. An Atheist’s History of Belief by Matthew Kneale

Top 10 fiction:

  1. The Humans by Matt HaigHumans
  2. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
  3. The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wecker
  4. Jack Glass by Adam Roberts
  5. Only Forward by Michael Marshall Smith
  6. The Tooth Fairy by Graham Joyce
  7. The Language of Dying by Sarah Pinborough
  8. The Three by Sarah Lotz
  9. Red Rising by Pierce Brown
  10. The Anxiety of Kalix the Werewolf by Martin Millar

It seems that the first half of the year was better than the second in my reading choices. Only 2 proper science fiction in my top 10. Interesting. An honourable mention to Whitstable by Stephen Volk; a novella set in the town where I call home.

The comic series I’ve enjoyed reading in 2014 included:

  1. Trees
  2. Supreme: Blue Rose
  3. The Wake
  4. Ms Marvel
  5. The Wicked + The Divine
  6. Wytches

Oh what the hell. Some films too:

  1. Godzilla
  2. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  3. The Babadook
  4. Guardians of the Galaxy
  5. Edge of Tomorrow
  6. Under the Skin
  7. Inside Llewyn Davis
  8. X-Men: Days of Future Past
  9. Only Lovers Left Alive
  10. Her

So there you go. Tell me I’m wrong.

Slaughterhouse 5What about 2015? Well, plans and such like are never set in stone but I’m looking forward to reading The Death House by Sarah Pinborough, The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North, most of novels of Kurt Vonnegut, some gothic fiction including The Castle of Otranto by Walpole Horace.  I must try and get round to reading Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch. I should probably read a couple of old favourites too, including Brave New World and Ammonite by Nicola Griffin. I once tried to read Yevgeny Zamiatin’s We but didn’t get very far. I’m going to give that a bash too. I’m sure there’ll be plenty of new stuff too.

Leave a Reply

