My favourite novels, almost

It occurred to me that within this blog, which is an exploration of the genre’s I love, I’ve not really listed my favourite novels. Which is odd, cos I like lists. I wouldn’t say I love lists. But I do like them. So I started listing my favourite novels by genre, such as near future, classic SF, magic realism, urban fantasy, classic fantasy, and more…and that didn’t work, mainly because I struggle to label things. So then I went for a list of overall favourites, but that didn’t really seem representative, as there was loads of novels by only a few authors. Nothing wrong with that, but it didn’t give a true picture of what I actually like. Then I thought, to hell with it. I harumphed a lot and left it a day.

So what I then did was do a list of all my favourite novels and then limit it to one per author. This meant that the list won’t be a million books long and gives a good overall picture. It’s not definitive or read. For example, I like The Midwich Cuckoos more than Super Sad True Love Story. There is no real difference in my opinion of Armageddon: The Musical to any of the Brentford Triangle novels. So, in no order what so ever:

  • Super Sad True Love Story by Gary Shteyngart
  • Blindness by Jose Saramago
  • House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski
  • The Death of Grass by John Christopher
  • The Prestige by Christopher Priest
  • Lethe by Tricia Sullivan
  • Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch by Terry Pratchett
  • To Your Scattered Bodies Go by Philip Jose Farmer
  • Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion
  • The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde
  • The Man Who Fell to Earth by Walter Tevis
  • A Wild Sheep Chase by Haruki Murakami
  • Rule 34 by Charles Stross
  • Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton
  • The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
  • Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
  • This Alien Shore by C.S. Friedman
  • A Madness of Angels by Kate Griffin
  • Spares by Michael Marshall Smith
  • Childhood’s End by Arthur C. Clarke
  • 1984 by George Orwell
  • The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman
  • Ringworld by Larry Niven
  • The Road by Cormac McCarthy
  • Jem by Frederik Pohl
  • The Stars My Destination by Alfred Bester
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  • Lonely Werewolf Girl by Martin Millar
  • The Radleys by Matt Haig
  • The End of Mr. Y by Scarlett Thomas
  • Some Kind of Fairy Tale by Graham Joyce
  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
  • Hyperion by Dan Simmons
  • Feed by Mira Grant
  • Vurt by Jeff Noon
  • Blood Music by Greg Bear
  • Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes
  • On the Beach by Nevil Shute
  • The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick
  • The Company by K.J. Parker
  • Already Dead by Charlie Huston
  • Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland And Through The Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll
  • Naked Lunch by William S. Burroughs
  • The Princess Bride by William Goldman
  • I Haven’t Dreamed of Flying for a While by Taichi Yamada
  • Far North: A Novel by Marcel Theroux
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  • The Chrysalids by John Wyndham
  • Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  • Frankenstein or the Modern Prometheus by Mary Shelley
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • Air by Geoff Ryman
  • The Dervish House by Ian McDonald
  • The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells
  • Ammonite by Nicola Griffith
  • Roadside Picnic by Arkady & Boris Strugatsky
  • Zoo City by Lauren Beukes
  • Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson
  • Neuromancer by William Gibson
  • Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist
  • The Time Ships by Stephen Baxter
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  • Fevre Dream by George R.R. Martin
  • Armageddon: The Musical by Robert Rankin
  • The Stand by Stephen King
  • Under the Skin by Michel Faber
  • The Restoration Game by Ken MacLeod
  • The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell
  • Dune by Frank Herbert
  • Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert A. Heinlein
  • The Haunting Of Hill House by Shirley Jackson
  • The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly
  • Replay by Ken Grimwood
  • Makers by Cory Doctorow
  • The Great and Secret Show by Clive Barker
  • Perdido Street Station by China Mieville
  • Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  • Yellow Blue Tibia by Adam Roberts

Some of these are reviewed by me in this blog and elsewhere.

I would never be able to say which is my actual favourite, although the ones in bold I’ve read more than once. Those in italics I intend to read again. I might read the others again. I might not.

I dare you to agree.

Leave a Reply

