Thanks Damien, something else to read now.

Having recently read Damien G. Walter’s excellent post (I’ve only read The Road, but I’ve added the rest to my to-read list on Goodreads) about reading literacy SF and fantasy it set me thinking about what I’ve been reading lately.

Now, I’m all for a good zombie novel and I’ve read a few over the last few years – some good (Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion and Feed by Mira Grant or its sequel Deadline) and some not so good (Hater by David Moody and Patient Zero by Jonathan Maberry). I’m loving a bit of urban fantasy too. I’d highly recommend the Matthew Swift books by Kate Griffin. Time, I think, to move on and read some new stuff.

So, my plan for 2012 is to discover some new authors. What? What about all the other stuff. Well, this is how I figure it’ll work.

I’ll catch up on the Arthur C Clarke nominees as I do every year. I hope I’ve already read some of them. New books and an occasional oldy I’ll review for Bookgeeks, which is a wonderful thing to do. I’ll continue to read for my History of Science Fiction Literature  Challenge. With the few seconds I’ll have left in my life when I’m not reading non-fiction or graphic novels, I’ll endevour to read authors and genres I’ve not read before. I’ll pick up some of those mentioned by Walter and I’ve picked up a copy of 1001 Books to Read Before You Die. Which is a start…

Sounds like a plan? I think so.

Leave a Reply

