So what is The Forgotten Geek?

geek, n.

slang (chiefly U.S.).

a. orig. Eng. regional (north.). A person, a fellow, esp. one who is regarded as foolish, offensive, worthless, etc.

b. Freq. depreciative. An overly diligent, unsociable student; any unsociable person obsessively devoted to a particular pursuit (usually specified in a preceding attrib. noun). Cf. nerd n

c. spec. A person who is extremely devoted to and knowledgeable about computers or related technology.

(Third edition, July 2010; online version March 2011. <http://www.oed.com:80/Entry/77307&gt;)

 

Now, I don’t know about anyone else, but I’m not foolish, unless I want to be. I’m not offensive, although I can be if I choose, and I’m definitely not worthless. I hope my wife at least would testify to this. I’m not unsociable. My friends and colleagues occupy a wide range of the social spectrum and I can communicate with them well on multiple levels. I am in no way devoted to and knowledgeable about computers, although I do love the idea of the internet and smartphones. So, what does that leave? Obsessively devoted to a particular pursuit. I think that nails it. So, what is a geek?

geek, n.

slang (chiefly U.S. and U.K.).

a. A person, who is obsessively devoted to a particular pursuit, which is often viewed as to be outside of the social norm; usually very sociable , loves to share information with fellow devotees.

(me>today)

Yeah, I think I like that better.

Why forgotten?

Let’s start with lists. Look at any best of list (100 greatest Sci-Fi films – http://bit.ly/bE1TC, Scariest Horror Films – http://bo.st/4vqZUB, Most popular fantasy novels – http://bit.ly/1LLe3K – and there are a million of them out there) and the same titles come round again and again. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love most of these. My personal list of favourites are the same as most of the geeks out there. You want a list? Where do I start? It’s all the usual stuff: Star Wars, Star Trek, Lord of the Rings, Buffy, Galactica, Gillian, Cronenburg, The Thing, Jaws, Burton, Fifth Element, The Crow, Batman, Spiderman, Marvel, Hellblazer, Hellraiser, Alien, Blade Runner, Hellboy, Kick Ass, Scott Pilgrim, vampires, zombies, ghosts, Supernatural, Clarke, Mieville, Barker, Doctorow, Adams, Orwell, Huxley, Bear, Lovecraft, Wells, Fforde, Noon, Wyndham, Sandman, Moore, Miller, Ennis, Carey…need I go on? This would be very boring if I did.

Thus, my aim is to have an adventure in the lesser known, or at least the less talked about, corridors of geek fiction. Classics that have been missed such as The Death of Grass by John Christopher (who he? Exactly!). Magic realism such as Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children. Science fiction that is denied as such by its authors; stand up especially Margaret Atwood (have you read Oryx and Crake?). Metafiction and post-modern stuff, such as the works of Italo Calvino. Asian writing and not just Murakami, but Taichi Yamada and others. New authors such as Lauren Beukes – you must read Zoo City.

So, these words will be a description of my adventures in the darker recesses of speculative fiction. News and reviews. Thoughts and experiences.

Welcome to my book world.

 

Leave a Reply

